New Politics


See this artist at:​

When inspiration gathers, you simply ride the wave and hold on for dear life. While writing Vikings, their third full-length album and first for DCD2 Records/Warner Bros. Records, the members of New Politics—David Boyd [lead vocals, guitar], Søren Hansen [bass, guitar, keys, programming] who came to the states from Denmark, and NY Native Louis Vecchio [drums]—embraced that spirit wholeheartedly. Without any deadlines or plan to speak of, the trio began writing songs for fun during 2014’s Monumentour with Paramore and Fall Out Boy.

As soon as they got off the road, the trio chose to record a good chunk of the material in David and Søren’s Brooklyn apartment. That proved apropos in and of itself as the two Denmark natives had completely adopted a “New York State of Mind” after four years stateside and a myriad of crazy experiences.

As a result, the new music threads together a patchwork of femme fatales who, as David admits, might be “crashing on my couch and barely wearing anything” like the vixen in “50 Feet Tall” or “choosing a girl instead of me” as happens during “Girl Crush.” The stories unfold in tandem with a soundtrack of danceable alternative that’s unafraid to pop or to rock for that matter.