Discover & Download - The Strumbellas

December 17, 2018

(November 30, 2018) – Today The Strumbellas return with new single “Salvation” produced by Tim Pagnotta (Elle King, Walk the Moon) out now via Glassnote Records.

“Our whole dream has been to make cool, small-town music with just a fun, poppy feeling,” says lead singer/guitarist Simon Ward. “Every record we do, we get closer to that. ‘Salvation’ is exactly what we wanted to do, what we were hoping to get out of this song and record: fun, poppy songs that are sad and weird.”

For the group, which also consists of David Ritter (keys), Jeremy Drury (percussion), Isabel Ritchie (strings), Jon Hembrey (guitar) and Darryl James (bass), “Salvation” marks a stylistic turn from their melancholy, introspective releases.

The Strumbellas’ last album ‘Hope’ came out in 2016 and their first single ‘Spirits’ quickly reached the #1 spot on both the Alternative Radio Chart and the Billboard Alternative Songs chart, with performances of the hit track on both ABC’s Jimmy Kimmel Live and CBS’ The Late Show With Stephen Colbert. The #1 single propelled them up the charts and established them as one of the biggest breakout Alternative Rock acts of the year. In 2017, they won the iHeartRadio Music award for Best New Alternative Rock Artist of the Year, and collected the JUNO Award for Single of the Year ahead of Drake, The Weeknd and Shawn Mendes.

From the onset the band received critical praise from the press, "The Strumbellas have perfected a story arc that's summed up in the title of their new album 'Hope,” wrote The New York Times and “The Strumbellas aren’t just taking on the US, they are taking on the world,” declared Forbes. The Strumbellas simultaneously won over the fans, attracting huge crowds at their sold out shows across the country and making huge debut performances at some of the worlds most renowned festivals including British Summer Time, Newport Folk Festival, Lollapalooza, Pilgrimage, Life Is Beautiful and ACL.

The band is currently in the studio working on its fourth album.